Injury in Cobb County

The historic county of Cobb is a suburban county located at the northern end of the city of Atlanta. The county seat and largest city of Cobb County is the city of Marietta, which is located near the center of the county. Cobb County was created on December 3, 1832, by the Georgia General Assembly from a huge tract of land carved out of the Cherokee territory, which was located northwest of the Chattahoochee River, and once the state confiscated this tract of land, it was redistributed to the settlers following the federal Indian Removal Act. According to history, Cobb County is one of nine counties that were carved out during the historic Trail of Tears.

Cobb County was named for Thomas Willis Cobb, who was a United States representative and a senator from the state of Georgia. Thomas Willis Cobb’s wife was named Mary, and most people believe that Marietta was named after his wife.

The population of Cobb County is around 680,000 and is continuing to populate. Cobb County is part of the five-county Atlanta metropolitan area with the other counties being Fulton, Dekalb, Clayton and Gwinnett. Cobb County is situated immediately outside the northwest city limits of Atlanta, but is connected to the metropolitan area by interstate highways I-285, I-75, I-20 and I-575. For the last three decades, Cobb County has ranked as one of the fastest growing counties of the entire United States. The latest U.S. Census Bureau statistics rank Cobb County as the most-educated in the state of Georgia and 12th among all counties in the entire United States. In size, Cobb County has a total area of 344 square miles, with 340 square miles being land and 4 square miles covering water.

Cobb County is home to the cities of Acworth, Austell, Kennesaw, Marietta, Powder Springs and Smyrna. Cobb County is divided between two major basins, with most of the runoff flowing into the Chattahoochee River along the southeastern border. A ridge from Kennesaw Mountain divides part of the county into the Etowah River Basin, which includes Lake Allatoona. Lake Acworth, which empties directly into Lake Allatoona under the Lake Acworth Drive Bridge. Cobb County borders Cherokee County to the north, Fulton County is east, Paulding County is west and Douglas County is south.

As Cobb County continues to grow, so does it’s educational system. Cobb County is home to Chattahoochee Technical College, Kennesaw State University, Life University and Southern Polytechnic State University. Additionally, two public school systems are used in Cobb County which are the Marietta City Schools and the Cobb County Schools. There are also a number of private schools with most of them being located in the city of Marietta but some are located in Powder Springs, Kennesaw and Austell.

If you or a loved one are in need of a plaintiffs personal injury lawyer or a wrongful death attorney, specializing in car and trucking accidents, in the Cobb County, Marietta area, please look no further than the Law Offices of Falanga and Chalker. The Law Offices of Falanga and Chalker have four branches throughout the state of Georgia, with two being in the metro Atlanta area. An experienced attorney from Falanga and Chalker will come to you, free of charge, to set up the initial consultation, to help ensure that your legal rights are preserved. Falanga and Chalker have recovered over $170 million in damages for their personal injury clients in the state of Georgia.

Free Initial Consultation
Contact Us